XML Newbie help!

XML , Csharp , VS Melbourne, Australia
  • 10 years ago

Hi All,

I am pretty new to XML and struggling trying to extract some data from an XML document...

Here is a snippet of the document:

What I am trying to extract is the PoolType = "WW" and then within that the DivAmount and RunnerNo.

I have been playing around with GetElementByName and Attributes but just can't seem to find the values.

Any help would be greatly appreciated :)

Cheers Dean

• 10 years ago

Heya, if you provide a snippet of the XML you are trying to parse, i'll see if i can show you how.

• 10 years ago

Hi AmzBee,

I did put it in here but it must have striped it... here it is again, or it it isn't there I have put it on pastebin.com as well :)

Appreciate the help, it's doing my head in.

Dean

http://pastebin.com/deTEjt3L

<ResultPlace PlaceNo="1">
    	<Result RunnerNo="6" PoolType="PP" Ref50Pct="N" RefScratched="N" RefAbandon="N" RefNoWinner="N" NoPlacePool="N">
    		<PoolResult PoolType="PP" Dividend="2.40"/>
    	</Result>
    	<Result RunnerNo="6" PoolType="WW" Ref50Pct="N" RefScratched="N" RefAbandon="N" RefNoWinner="N" NoPlacePool="N">
    		<PoolResult PoolType="WW" Dividend="10.00"/>
    	</Result>
    </ResultPlace>
    <ResultPlace PlaceNo="2">
    	<Result RunnerNo="3" PoolType="PP" Ref50Pct="N" RefScratched="N" RefAbandon="N" RefNoWinner="N" NoPlacePool="N">
    		<PoolResult PoolType="PP" Dividend="2.50"/>
    	</Result>
    	<Result RunnerNo="3" PoolType="WW" Ref50Pct="N" RefScratched="N" RefAbandon="N" RefNoWinner="N" NoPlacePool="N">
    		<PoolResult PoolType="WW"/>
    	</Result>
    </ResultPlace>
    <ResultPlace PlaceNo="3">
    	<Result RunnerNo="4" PoolType="PP" Ref50Pct="N" RefScratched="N" RefAbandon="N" RefNoWinner="N" NoPlacePool="N">
    		<PoolResult PoolType="PP" Dividend="1.20"/>
    	</Result>
    	<Result RunnerNo="4" PoolType="WW" Ref50Pct="N" RefScratched="N" RefAbandon="N" RefNoWinner="N" NoPlacePool="N">
    	</Result>