HTMLSelectElement.FireEvent

csharp United States
  • 15 years ago
    Hi there,

I am trying to browse a website using MSHTML. On a webpage, I want to select an item in dropdown box. This is the code that I use to do it:
    Code:
    HTMLSelectElement eventCat = (HTMLSelectElement) myDoc.all.item("EventCategory",0);
    eventCat.selectedIndex = 13;

IHTMLElement eventCatElem = eventCat as IHTMLElement;
    IHTMLDocument4 doc = eventCatElem.document as IHTMLDocument4;
    object dummy = null;
    object eventObj=doc.CreateEventObject(ref dummy);
    HTMLSelectElementClass se = eventCat as HTMLSelectElementClass;
    eventCat.FireEvent("onchange",eventCat);

eventCat.selectedIndex succesfully selected an item, but it doesn't fire the "onchange" event, so I added the next lines of code to fire the event but to no avail...
    Does anyone know how to solve this?
    Thanks in advanced.
  • 15 years ago

I am very new to MSHTML and DOM.  I know this is a C# forum, but my problem may have a similar solution to the original posting by Irma.

I am trying to write a test harness that automates actions to our product's web-based management server.  I am writing the code using Visual C++ 6.0.  I also have IE 6.0.* installed, so I presume I have the "latest" MSHTML.dll.

I am able to do the login screen, and programmatically click on all the <a> anchor links.  I can also programmatically click on Button elements that I find.  However, I am having difficulty with no events firing when I change values for SelectOption elements, radio buttons, etc.  

Here is an example of some HTML that I try to programmatically select and set:

<SELECT VALIGN=TOP class='data' id=RecPerPage onchange='ChangeRecPerPage()'>
    <OPTION Selected= 10 VALUE=10>10</OPTION>
    <OPTION  VALUE=25>25</OPTION>
    <OPTION  VALUE=50>50</OPTION>
    <OPTION  VALUE=100>100</OPTION>
    <OPTION  VALUE=10000>All</OPTION>
    </SELECT>