Parallel Port Tutorial

• 8 years ago

I need a full tutorial on how to use parallel ports in VB, how can i control a circuit using Visual Basic 6.0, i want to know what i will need [libraries ...] and that's about it.. i'm a newbie in this type of programming so...

• 8 years ago
    I've changed the title of your post, as the initial title was misleading. Hopefully you'll get a few useful answers this way...  

• 8 years ago

Hello

First you have to know that parallel port not accessaple directly from the Win NT based system, cause of security reasons, microsoft has decide to allow app. written in kernal mode to deal with parallel port, so logix4u.com develop a dll library that allow developer to deal with parallel port this library contain a .sys file inside it which work as an parallel port driver when you use this dll its check if the parallel port driver loaded or not, if its not loaded, it extract and setup its internal driver and allow you to read and write to PPT, this library contain 2 easy API statment.

Follow the following link

http://www.logix4u.net/inpout32.htm

and then download

http://www.lvr.com/files/ppc.zip

you can use the samples in ZIP, or you can use the follow both are easy.

you have to know that parallel port has 8 data channel and 8 grounds  and status , control channels,

Private Declare Function Inp Lib "inpout32.dll" Alias "Inp32" (ByVal PortAdress As Integer) As Integer
    Private Declare Sub out Lib "inpout32.dll" Alias "Out32" (ByVal PortAdress As Integer, ByVal Value As Integer)

Private Sub WriteToChannel(Index As Byte)
        Dim PPT_Pulse As Byte
        PPT_Pulse = PPT_Pulse + (2 ^ Index)
        Call out(888, PPT_Pulse)
    End Sub

The index is a value from 0 to 7, if you wana turn off all channels write

Call out(888, 0)

The 888 is the base address of parallel port,

if you wana more of details just googling on "Parallel port programming tutorials"

Hope this help you :), mail me if you need somthing.

Good luck.