A Giant Hurdle blocks my Giant Leap! (MSDE 2000)

msde , sql , access India
  • 11 years ago

Hello Friends… Before going into why I am writing this, first I want to confess one thing. I am not a very experienced professional like some of you reading this post. I am just a beginner in learning Ms-Office. As a sincere amateur, I so far explored most of the options in Ms-Word, A little bit of Ms-Excel and a Fair amount of Ms-Access. My expertise includes both the manual options and also the objects Models of the above said applications. Ok. Let’s come to my current scenario. From my initial stage onwards (in Ms-Access) I often came across two types of help content in access help. Wherever I go in Access help, it categorized by “for mdb” and “for adp”. To say the fact, I never even read beyond the mdb section. But as I was curious to know what adp really is. After sometime I came to know that it is a different type of Database file (called Data-project normally) we can create in Ms-Access. I also got some information about MSDE. I even tested in one time at my home (just to feel it). While trying at my home, I did not have any problem in installing MSDE or upsizing my mdb files into adp and also hosting that converted mdb into the MSDE Server. The main reason for me to experiment all these without any trouble is that I did not have a network in home. I just installed the MSDE in stand-alone system and using the adp in the same system itself. At that time I was not even aware of the two authentication systems. I was (‘was’) confident that I can easily achieve the same things I experimented in home anywhere at anytime. In fact, I even expected a chance to implement my expertise from my home experiment. Three years went by; I did not get any opportunities to delve me into that subject for further exploration. Before two months, I was allotted to a creation of Ms-Access Database system. My TL clearly explained the scenario and requirements of the project in the beginning i