VB.Net and CPU Usage Increasing

db , sharepoint , vb.net United Kingdom
  • 13 years ago

I have developed a VB.Net program which interfaces to an OCR Reader

The problem is that when it is running, the CPU stays at about 3-5% but the Mem Usage indicator in Windows Task Manager gradually increases every 2-3 secs till finally it crashes the machine over about 12hours

Any Help would be appreciated

Regards 

splints

• 13 years ago

I presume you are closing all open connections and reader objects. It sounds like your objects are not being disposed of.

• 13 years ago

Thanks for your response 

I am new to this VB game so am not sure how to check open connections and reader objects are closed

I am using a timer to check for an input trigger every 3sec or so I think this is what is causing my problems

How  can I check what you have said ie check that all open connections and reader objects are closing

Regards

• 13 years ago

I'm no ocr whizz, and I imagine there may be issues if this connection is constantly open, and your timer is essentially a ticking timebomb.

I'm not at my Dev computer today, although I will be tomorrow, and so if you still ahve problems and nonone has responded, stick another post.

A simple way to open and close a connection is by inserting the USING keyword

USING connection As New SqlConnection(GetConnection())

END USING

This will automatically close the connection when the procedure is passed out of.

I'm not sure what your timer is checking, but if it is related to your ocr procedure, I would advise working with some other checking procedure. If you are working with a database, then you can work with the cache instead, and check the required column at a set time (triggers). I imagine every 3 seconds to be an extreme time to be checking an object, and would advise you let the server inform the client instead when the nature of an object has changed; perhaps by using Guid or timestamp objects.

• 13 years ago