wait random amount of secods then play

• 13 years ago

hi all

I am in the middle of making a flash clay pigen shooting game and i need a bit of scripting to make the movie wait for a between 5 and 30 seconds before firing the the next clay.

so as the movie loads i simply need it get to a fram and the script run and count for between 5 and 30 seconds and the continue playing onto the next frame and so conitune fireing the clays.

i just can't et the timer and rand() funtions tro work correctly

any eaxmples please??????

cheers

dean

• 13 years ago

Hi Dean, I'm new to Developer Fusion so it's some hours ago that I came to read your post. I would like to help you but I'm afraid that I will need a few details more. Sorry if you find some mistakes in my english, I'll appreciate a lot your pointing me any oversight.

Anyway, I've taken some time to prepare two visually simple examples that use timers to control when the playhead of a certain MC jumps to the next frame once the delay variable value is reached. The delay values I used in my sample files (how could I send them or post them?) for each frame are:

(In seconds) frame 1 (10), frame 2 (15), frame 3 (20), frame 4 (10) and frame 5 (5). You can try any value you want.

1- Create a new flash document and drag 2 static texts onto layer 1. Write Elapsed Time: in one of them and Frame # 1, to display the number of the current frame,  in the other. They will serve as info labels.

2- Drag a static text and change it into dynamic mode. Write txt_msg as the instance name for it.