INSERT INTO Problem

VB , INSERT INTO , ADO.NET Basildon, United Kingdom
  • 11 years ago

Hi I wonder if anyone can help,

I'm fairly new to ADO.NET and am trying to create a program that picks up a value from one table in access, displays it in a command prompt and then copies selected data to another table. My code i am having problems with is below. The Declared values are the ones I wish to write to a table and when I put in break points and step through the values are shown correctly, however when I get to the Execute query at the bottom I get the following error. Any Ideas? Thanks all help appreciated.

"No value given for one or more required parameters".

Dim myOleDbConnection As OleDb.OleDbConnection
            Dim insert As String
            Dim value1 = objDataRow.Item("ContactID")
            Dim value2 = objDataRow.Item("FirstName")
            Dim value3 = objDataRow.Item("LastName")
            Dim value4 = objDataRow.Item("Sent")

Dim myConnectionString As String = "Provider=Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0;" & _
            "Data Source = C:\Users\Edward\Desktop\db1.mdb;"

'insert = "INSERT INTO Cancelled (ContactID, FirstName, LastName, Sent) VALUES (" & value1 & " ," & value2 & " ," & value3 & " ," & value4 & ")"

myOleDbConnection = New OleDb.OleDbConnection(myConnectionString)
            myOleDbConnection.Open()
            Dim myOleDbCommand As New OleDb.OleDbCommand(insert, myOleDbConnection)

myOleDbCommand = myOleDbConnection.CreateCommand

myOleDbCommand.CommandType = CommandType.Text

myOleDbCommand.CommandText = insert

myOleDbCommand.ExecuteNonQuery()

myOleDbConnection.Close()

• 11 years ago

Hi You have done the mistake while inserting values didn't use 'quotes in inserting coulmns values. I have given the soultion of your problem by correcting your code please check the soultion at http://aspnetans.blogspot.com/2009/06/no-value-given-for-one-or-more-required.html

• 11 years ago