C++ Programmers

• 18 years ago

Let's get some C++ Programmers in here!     I'm dying to have more topics in here.  heheh
    Tell all your friends, mention it on other boards, advertise, advertise, advertise!

• 18 years ago

submit code & tutorials too...  i must admit, the c++ section pf the site is one area i haven't promoted too heavily....

• 18 years ago

That's OK James...

I just got into C++ this year and I'm really liking it.  The functionality and flexibility is amazing!
    Hopefully I can get GOOD enough to submit some samples and tutorials!  Right now, I just know classes, templates, overloading, inheritance, data structures, etc...  I haven't done any major projects yet.  

• 18 years ago

Most programmers use C or BASIC. So why is this one so unpopular? Anyway, I'm new at this thing, but I'm working on a small text based RPG in C. When it's done, I'll post it.

• 18 years ago

C++ is unpopular? Did I miss a meeting or something?

C++ isn't so popular among n00bs because it's a real pain in the butt to make windows apps.  I'm in the middle (closer to the beginning!) of teaching myself Visual C++, and it's really starting to make sense.  I got into C++ (using borland) about 4 years ago in a highschool programming class and found it really easy, but getting into windows programming is almost like starting all over again. My hard work will pay off in spades though

• 18 years ago

He means that it's unpopular in this forum.  

And yeah, newbs don't want to program C++ because it involves WRITING CODE!

I've noticed more than a few times people asking questions in the VB forum saying stuff like "Hi, I downloaded this code and I was wondering why it won't work.  Does anyone know where I can download some source code that does such and such?  Or can anyone write me a function that does such and such?"

That sort of thing gives us VB Programmers a bad name -- i.e. NOT Programmers!  

• 18 years ago