Naivete

access United States
  • 19 years ago

Dear Colleagues

I am completely new to VB/ASP/SQL/Access.

However, I am writing for a little advice. I have a 2-3,000 mailing list (e.mail addresses) on my hard drive (in a very basic Access database).

Every month I need to e.mail the recipients and wonder if I may use VB/ASP/SQL or whatever in a way which allows me to send off the messages quicker than I manage to do at the moment.

URLs related to this and which could, maybe, explain more would be welcome.

Many thanks

Steve Higham
    [email protected]

• 19 years ago

First of all, where do u host ur server and what kind of facilities software you had? Exchange? NT?

• 19 years ago

Thank you for your reply.

I have a Web hosting servive with Impacthosting (in New Jersey - I am in the UK). They do not support NT.

To send off my e.mails to my mailing list I go into their site (where I have an e.mail box as part of the hosting service) and send them from there - about 15 e.mails at a time (which takes me a week or so to send off 2-3000 messages).

I use Windows 95, but will upgrade in the next week or two to Windows 98.

I hope you can help and, once again, I thank you for taking the time to assist.

Yours sincerely,

STEVE HIGHAM

• 19 years ago

Personally i think non NT based services integrated with MS Access based databases is abit hard, but does the server have any Windows APi supporting?

Else there is no way to integrate, else i cant help out with Unix server sendmail services.

• 19 years ago

Hello Neo

My hosting service tells me that ASP is OK.
    Does this help?

Steve

• 19 years ago

Then ask them whether the Access components had it inside the server (whether they support it)? Or maybe u shall ask whether have MDAC (Microsoft Data Access Component) inside? coz without that, u only can run ASP but no related db for ur web application.

• 19 years ago

Hello Neo, Thanks again for your reply.