Why are tables considered bad form?

• 14 years ago

Hello,

I'm very new to website design and am loving my nice neat table based designs (I only plan to create 3 or 4 page sites). Recently though my world was rocked when I was told that tables were now considered bad form and should be replaced by CSS. Can anyone tell me why tables are so wrong? I don't mind using CSS if there is a good enough reason to. Please find it in you to help a clueless person!

• 14 years ago
    The table element in html is supposed to be used to display tabular data. It is not supposed to be used for laying out your design. However, the table element does make it quite easy to visually lay out relatively complex designs on a page, so it is often used in that way.

However, this causes problems for people not using visual web browsers. For example, a visually impaired person might visit your site using a screen reader. The screen reader will read out the web page. If it encounters a table then it will say "table of data, row one..." etc. But if you have used a table to visually lay out the page, what is announced by the screen reader will make no sense whatsoever.

The problem with using tables to layout a page is that the resultant page only makes sense if you are able to look at it. And not everyone in the world can do that.

If you restrict yourself to using CSS to layout your page and tables to display tabular data, then both the sighted person and the blind person will have equal access to your page.
  • 14 years ago

Hi,
    Tables are not so wrong..

Some use CSS because its little bit useful in search engine optimization and helps in ranking high.

Thankyou

• 14 years ago

Hi,
    Tables are not so wrong..

Some use CSS because its little bit useful in search engine optimization and helps in ranking high.

Thankyou

• 14 years ago

Tables are bad WHEN you do not know how to format them right

Tables are really useful when you do know how...