Date Calculations in Access

• 13 years ago

Hi There

I'm not really a developer - I just dabble to help me with my day job! I'm trying to do some VBA code which includes updating a date field in an existing table. I extract the date from another table (field in this source table defined as Short Date format) then use DateAdd to Subtract 2 days from it in VBA. Having done this I then use an SQL staement to update the Field with this calculated value in my existing table (Field format also = Short Date). When I watch the variable during theVBA run it shows as a Data Type = Date and the date shown is correct. After the SQL runs to update the table with this value however  and I look at the values added to the table they are in time rather than date format.  For instance when i try to update the Field to 15/06/2007 what actually appears is 00:01:48.

Any thoughts on what I'm doing wrong gratefully accepted!

• 13 years ago
    Hi John
     If you set the DataType as Date/Time (ShortDate) in the Access Table then it wont show Date and Time inside the Aceess DB(query shown records). I also checked in my Access File. Where is this problem you are facing, i mean in the DB itself or your coding(FrontEnd). If you are facing in the FrontEnd then which lang are you using...give me some more details to resolve your problem.

I may be also your Regional setting problem...check you Regional Settings in the Control Panel.

Good Luck

Regards

Hari K.....

• 13 years ago

Hi Hari

Not sure if this helps. This is my VBA code. The date that comes out of Record 0 in Table [Act Update] is 18/06/2007. The Value for Right_Date then = 15/06/2007 - which is what I expected. When I open the Table and view the field "Referral Creation Date" in Table [New Referrals] after it has been updated by the code below the value that appears in the Field isn't 15/06/2007 as I expected but "00:01:48"

Dim cnnX As ADODB.Connection

Dim MyRecordSet As New ADODB.Recordset

Dim Extract_Date As Date