Visual C# or VB.net ?

.net , csharp Phoenix, United States
  • 14 years ago

Well, here goes..

I have been using VB6 Pro for about 5 months..I have recently possed a copy of VS2005.

I have talked with a few developers and they have all said that if i were going to start coding, i should just goto C#..I cant seem to find anyone using C# to do the bulk of thier coding..

Is Visual C# just somethin ppl use to do odd tasks , like a side kick to VB?

Should i go back to VB(VB.net) or continue with Visual C#?

Also, any good books for learning Visual C# ?? the Amazon reviews arent that good on this topic..I do have a copy of "Murach's C#"

• 14 years ago
    I was in an almost identical situation as you.  I had background in VB6 and wanted to move on to .NET.  I went the route you described, I use VB.NET and use C# for "odd jobs" (like for example, Image Processing routines that need to use pointers).  Since you are coming from VB6, I suggest VB.NET just because you're familiar with the general structure.  Just remember though, VB.NET is largely different from VB6.

Having said that, once you learn something in one .NET language, it is really easy to apply it to another.  I am trying to become just as robust in C# as I am in VB.NET.  This is probably a good idea to make your skills more marketable to employees...

The only C# book i own is "Professional C# 3rd Edition" by Simon Robinson, Christian Nagel, Karli Watson, Jay Glynn, Morgan Skinner, and Bill Evjen

And honestly, it has everything in it to have a good understanding of C#.  I learned the C# equivalent of everything I have ever learned about VB.NET and in a lot less time since I was already familiar with a .NET language.

• 14 years ago