Custom Button Attributes

• 13 years ago
    Hey. I'm a bit of a newbie to vb .net.
    I'm curious if it's possible some one could point me in the direction of some pre-written custom button (particularly with more attribute fields for info), or let me know step by step how to add some custom attributes for the default button?

I've read a few items on adding custom attributes and writing custom controls, but I'm afraid they're slightly above my current understanding. I'd apprechiate it if someone could assist. Thanks.

• 13 years ago

What you'd like to do is extend the button class.  This is pretty easy and I'll walk you through a simple example.  Once you understand it maybe the more complicated examples you've seen will make a little more sense.  At the very least you'll have a starting point.

1) Start a new project (windows application will be fine)
    2) Click Properties > Add class
    3) Give the class a usefull name like ExtendedButton and then click Add
    4) Double click on the class in the solution explorer to bring up the code window
    5) Under the class declaration type 'Inherits Button' and hit Enter

If you don't know about inheritance you should do some research on class inheritance so your more familiar with it.  For now just know that by inheriting the Button class we've now created a Button with all the properties and methods of the standard Button.  As a rule of thumb if a control does mostly what you want you should try to inherit from it and then modify it to your liking. All you want are a few extra fields so this is definitly the right approach.

6) Add a private string variable 'm_Field1'

This variable will contain the properties value that we'll create next.  When creating properties I like to name the local variable using the convention m_PropertyName.  I've seen other nameing conventions like _PropertyName or mPropertyName.  Pick the one you like or use something else it's up to you, but be consistent.