total newb to VB, textboxes and loops

• 13 years ago

thanks for bearing with a total newb - I've done some programmning before, but it was in college, in C++, and console only :). I'm teaching myself some VB.net, and am having trouble porting some of the concepts forward. I'm writing a practice program to help track my golf scores over time, and report on various statistics. It seems to encompass many of the techniques I might need at work (which is the ultimate goal for learning to code in VB). What I've got are 26 text boxes that I need to grab input from - 18 for the par of the hole, and 18 for my score on that hole. I'm struggling with how I can address each of the textboxes in an iterative manner - for humor, here's the current "get data" procedure ...

Private Sub bAddScore_Click(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles bAddScore.Click
            Par(1) = tbH1P.Text
            Par(2) = tbH2P.Text
            Par(3) = tbH3P.Text
            Par(4) = tbH4P.Text
            Par(5) = tbH5P.Text
            Par(6) = tbH6P.Text
            Par(7) = tbH7P.Text
            Par(8) = tbH8P.Text
            Par(9) = tbH9P.Text
            Par(10) = tbH10P.Text
            Par(11) = tbH11P.Text
            Par(12) = tbH12P.Text
            Par(13) = tbH13P.Text
            Par(14) = tbH14P.Text
            Par(15) = tbH15P.Text
            Par(16) = tbH16P.Text
            Par(17) = tbH17P.Text
            Par(18) = tbH18P.Text

Score(1) = tbH1S.Text
            Score(2) = tbH2S.Text
            Score(3) = tbH3S.Text
            Score(4) = tbH4S.Text
            Score(5) = tbH5S.Text
            Score(6) = tbH6S.Text
            Score(7) = tbH7S.Text
            Score(8) = tbH8S.Text
            Score(9) = tbH9S.Text
            Score(10) = tbH10S.Text
            Score(11) = tbH11S.Text
            Score(12) = tbH12S.Text
            Score(13) = tbH13S.Text
            Score(14) = tbH14S.Text
            Score(15) = tbH15S.Text