N00b questions with VB and video

vb express , video playback , video format Thessaloníki, Greece
  • 12 years ago
    Hi everyone! Just started taking my first steps with Visual Basic and I want to take a shot at making a CBT application. I've acquired VB Express 2008 and although i have some *basic* programming knowledge from several years back, it all seems pretty new to me at this time :) So here's a list of questions i have for you guys, any help with them would be greatly appreciated! 1. I need to use a video format that cannot be played back with any widespread media player (:glares at VLC:) or, barring that, an encryption that dissallows the viewer from directly playing the video files. 2. From what I've gathered from browsing at several forums, there is normal support for videos in "standard" formats (for example .avi and .wmv) - however, there is no mention of any other "non-standard" formats, such as, say, .3gp. What would i need to use in order to play that sort of file through my application? a separate SDK? 3. Is there an easy way to package several movies into a single file and then access a particular movie for playback? I'm having games in mind, where there's a single 1GB file that contains several files at once. So, help a n00b out? cheers :)
  • 12 years ago