Dynamically adding dropdownlist

asp.net , csharp , db Philadelphia, United States
  • 12 years ago

Hi all

I am new to asp.net. I am adding dropdownlist dynamically from codebahind. But i m not writing its code in PostBack, as i want these controls to be added even if the Page postbacks. Now the problem is that when Page PostBacks these controls are added again in form & my Dropdownlist selected index is again set to 0. Can someone tell me how to solve this problem... Plz.. thnx in advance... My code goes like this...

cmd = new SqlCommand("select distinct attrName, attrID from ProductAttr Where ProdID='" + int.Parse(Request["ProdID"].ToString()) + "'", con);

con.Open();

reader = cmd.ExecuteReader();

if (reader.HasRows)

{

while (reader.Read())

{

HtmlTableRow tr = new HtmlTableRow();

HtmlTableCell td1 = new HtmlTableCell();

Label lblattrname = new Label();

lblattrname.Text = reader.GetString(0);

td1.Controls.Add(lblattrname);

tr.Controls.Add(td1);

HtmlTableCell td2 = new HtmlTableCell();

SqlConnection con1 = new SqlConnection(strcon);

ds = new DataSet();SqlDataAdapter adap = new SqlDataAdapter("select SubAttrValue, SubAttrID from SubProductAttr Where AttrID='" + reader.GetInt32(1) + "'", con1);

adap.Fill(ds);

DropDownList DropAttrValue = new DropDownList();

DropAttrValue.AutoPostBack = true;DropAttrValue.ID = "DropAttrValue" + count;

DropAttrValue.DataSource = ds;

DropAttrValue.DataTextField = ds.Tables[0].Columns[0].ToString();

DropAttrValue.DataBind();

td2.Controls.Add(DropAttrValue);

tr.Controls.Add(td2);

tableprdinfo.Controls.Add(tr);

• 12 years ago
    Not sure what you are say? Are you saying you are adding the dropdownlist in the pageLoad event? And each time the page reloads it adds the same values to dropdown list again so you end with two sets of the same values? If so then use the

EnableViewState="false"