Sorting an Array in VBA

VBA , SQLserver , Oracle Melbourne, Australia
  • 11 years ago

Hi, I am new to VBA and want to write VBA code for sorting company details based on a given prioritylevel for each company. Sorted data is then used in other routines. Following are the details of a given company. Name, Address, phone, prioritylevel I am thinking of defining a class module to hold above information, and then define a array of class objects (is this possible?) for storing details of each and every company, and have some mechanism for sorting the array based on priority_level. Is this a reasonable approach? Has someone got otherway of doing this in VBA. Thanks.

• 11 years ago

Which program is storing the company details? If you're using Access, you could use a SQL query to create a temporary table and use that. If you're using Excel, then using a global array of variants in a module would be possible, but if there are a lot of companies, it'll chew up lots of RAM.

• 11 years ago

Thanks for the reply. There is no database or Excel involved. Data is read by VBA from another system.(eg. from a file).

Class Module: clsCompany public Name as String public Priority as Integer

Sub AssignTasks() Dim AllCompany as New Collection Dim Company1 as New clsCompany Dim Company2 as New clsCompany

'Add as many company to the collection 'Initialise the values Company1.Name = " Name A" Company1.Priority =2 AllCompany.Add Company1

Company2.Name = " Name B" Company1.Priority =1 AllCompany.Add Company2 ..... 'Now I need to Sort the collection (use bubble sort)

End Sub

I have used the standard bubble sort to sort the Colection, but failed when tried to swap items within the Collection based on the Priority. Any idea of sorting a Collection?

• 11 years ago

I have investigated this but can't find a way of sorting a Collection. The only way I could do it was to use an array as follows:

Option Explicit
    Option Base 1

Sub AssignTasks()

Dim Companies(3) As Class1