Text overlay on a webcam

vb6 Romania
  • 13 years ago

This has been annoying me for ages and I wonder if anyone could please help.  I am fairly new to Visual Basic, although I have done some quite advanced stuff with it I am learning it on the hoof and my knowledge is patchy.  I am using Visual Basic 2008.

I am using a PictureBox to display a webcam image by creating a capture window (CapCreateCaptureWindowA) with the drawing styles WS_CHILD and WS_VISIBLE flags set.  The webcam works fine.  I am trying to overlay text directly on top of the webcam picturebox so that just the text appears and not the control background that the text is written on.  Everything I have tried has failed: A drawstring is written over by the webcam and any attempt to make a control transparent, even with the control parent set to the webcam picturebox either results in a 'hole' in the form or the background set to the form background.

I have a couple of ideas this might be done however I cannot find anything on them and my lack of programming experience hinders me in exploring them further:

1.  Apply WS_LAYERED or WS_TRANSPARENT to a control overlayed on the webcam picturebox? 

2.  Change the Webcam  capture drawing style flags to prevent frames being drawn on top of the drawstring text?

3.  Alpha blending a controls background with a pixel(s) close to the control on the webcam picturebox?

4.  Send a Handle Message to the capture window including the text to be written?

I really dont care how the text is written onto the capture window providing that it is just text with no background.  Help with this is much appreciated! Thank you.

• 13 years ago

Without sight of the code, it is tricky to be sure how you are filling the window with a picture.

Quick thoughts:

try doing a drawstring as the last action in the picturebox's Paint event, or maybe write the webcam image into the picturebox's background image property, and have a transparent label sitting over the top.